I've forgotten my password
Dartford District Scouts


Who are Cub Scouts?

Cubs are young people aged 8 to 10½ who:

  • Master new skills and try new things
  • Have fun and go on adventures
  • Make friends
  • Are curious about the world around them
  • Help others and make a difference, in their own communities and beyond

Every week, they gather in groups called Cub Packs to take part in lots of interesting and challenging activities - achieving anything they set their minds to, and having lots of fun along the way.

They are the next section in the Scouting family.  Young people can join Cub Scouts in the three months leading up to their eighth birthday.  They move up to the next section, Scouts, at 10 1/2 years old.

Cubs will enjoy a full programme at their Pack meetings and get the chance to participate in loads of fun activities.  They will get the opportunity to try lots of different fun activities such as hiking, exploring and camping and go on trips and days out, to places like the zoo, theme parks or sports venues.

They will also have the opportunity to work towards badges, including the highest award in Cubs, the Chief Scout Silver Award.

 Cubs will have the opportunity to go camping giving them the chance to experience a range of outdoor activities and to develop valuable Scouting skills.

To find your nearest group, please contact joinus@dartfordscouts.org.uk

To see what the Kent Cubs are up to click here

There is a range of badges and awards available to young people in the Cub Scout Section. Click on the headings below to explore them further

Activity and Staged Badges

Many of the badges available are activity badges, which allow Cub Scouts to show their progress in existing pursuits, but also to try all kinds of new things and form new interests.

Staged Badges start off being earned at Beavers and as they progress through Cubs, Scouts and Explorers they do more and more activities to gain the next level.

Chief Scout Silver Award, Challenge Badges and Core badges

Gaining a challenge badge involves accomplishing a number of more ambitious tasks within the Pack or community. There are seven Challenge badges across a number of themes, from the physical and outdoors to challenges dealing with the local community or issues connected with the Scouting world.

Upon completion of the seven Challenge badges and six activity/staged badges, the Cub will be presented with the highest Award that can be achieved in Cubs - the Chief Scout Silver Award.

In addition, there are a number of core badges, obtained upon joining or moving on from the Pack, or for time spent in the Scouting movement.

To find out where you should put your badges, click here

Where Badges are sewn on a Cub Jumper

Powered by Conceptulise CMS
The views expressed in this website are not necessarily those of the Scout Association.