I've forgotten my password
Dartford District Scouts


Who are Beavers?

Beavers are young people aged 6 to 8 who:

  • Master new skills and try new things
  • Have fun and go on adventures
  • Make friends
  • Are curious about the world around them
  • Help others and make a difference, on their own doorstops and beyond

Every week, they gather in groups called Beaver Colonies to hop, skip and jump their way through lots of different games and activities - achieving anything they set their minds to, and having lots of fun along the way.

Beavers is a young person's first steps in Scouting.  During their time at Beavers  as well as learning new skills and making new friends, playing games, going on visits and helping others, they will also work towards badges, including the highest Award - the Chief Scout Bronze Award. 

Young people can join Beavers on their sixth birthday and when they turn eight years old, they will swim up to Cubs.

Beavers are easily recognised by their distinctive turquoise sweatshirts. 

They usually meet once a week at their local Beaver Scout Colony.

Beaver Scout Colonies also organise sleepovers. These are often the first time a young person spends a night away from home.  They will get to camp in tents, buildings, and sometimes Scout centres.

To find your nearest Beaver Colony please contact us at joinus@dartfordscouts.org.uk

To see what the Kent Beavers are up to click here




There is a range of badges and awards available to young people in the Beaver Scout Section. 

Click on the headings below for more information.

Activity and Staged badges

Many of the badges available are activity badges, which allow Beaver Scouts to show their progress in existing pursuits, but also to try all kinds of new things and form new interests.

Staged Badges start off being earned at Beavers and as they progress through Cubs, Scouts and Explorers they do more and more activities to gain the next level.

Chief Scout Bronze Award, Challenge Badges and Core badges

Gaining a Challenge badge involves accomplishing a number of more ambitious tasks within the Colony or community.  There are six Challenge badges to gain.

Upon completion of the six Challenge badges and four activity/staged badges, the Beaver will be presented with the highest Award that can be achieved in Beavers - the Chief Scout Bronze Award.

In addition, there are a number of core badges, obtained upon joining or moving on from the Colony, or for time spent in the Scouting movement.

To see where to sew your badges, follow this link

Where the badges are sewn

Powered by Conceptulise CMS
The views expressed in this website are not necessarily those of the Scout Association.